Van Zandt Surges to 2015 Victory, Booker Wins 3rd Senior Crown

THE WOODLANDS, Texas (May 8, 2014) — Matt Van Zandt shot a final-round 73 to slip past overnight leader Kyle Nathan and win the 2014 Carlton Woods Invitational.

Matt Van Zandt

Matt Van Zandt

The Houston resident shot 76-70 over the course of the first two days and took advantage of Nathan’s final-round 78 to win by a shot.

Nathan, from Glenview, Ill. had held the lead over the first two rounds with a 69-73 start but couldn’t find the same magic in Thursday’s finale.

Draegen Majors, from Stillwater, Okla., shot 76-73-73 to finish solo third place ahead of Shaun Helmle (77-73-75).

Chris Causey, Brady Exber and David Poteet finished tied for fifth while Chris Wilson, Beau Davis and defending champion Colby Harwell tied for eighth.


Mike Booker

Mike Booker

Mike Booker found himself in a familiar spot Thursday — the top of the leaderboard. Booker, a local favorite, shot 71-73-72 to win his third Carlton Woods Senior title by a shot over Jeff New.

New entered the final round one shot off the lead shared by Booker and Larry Nunez. He kept pace with Booker but couldn’t upend the veteran champion.

Nunez shot 79 in the final round and tied for fifth place.

Recent Tower Invitational champion Mike Peck shot rounds of 79-68-74 to finish solo third in the senior flight.